2017 Ngaio Marsh NZ Crime Awards

First awarded in 2010, the Ngaio Marsh Award promotes and celebrates excellence in crime, mystery and thriller writing by New Zealand authors. It is awarded each year in a ceremony held in Christchurch, the birthplace and hometown of Dame Ngaio Marsh, one of the four Queens of Crime of the Golden Age of Detective Fiction.

The winners of this year’s awards were announced on Saturday October 28th, at a WORD Christchurch event.

They were :

Best Non-fiction

Michael Bennett for “In Dark Places: the confessions of Teina Pora and an ex-cop’s fight for justice”

In dark places book cover 

Best Crime Novel

Fiona Sussman for “The Last Time We Spoke”

the last time we spoke book cover 

Best First Novel

Finn Bell for “Dead Lemons”



The finalists were :

Best Non fiction
Best Crime Novel
Best First Novel

For more information: