2019 Ockham NZ Book Awards

Published: 18-Feb-2019

The Ockham Award Longlists have been announced for 2019.

Established in 1968, in their current format these annual awards offer four principal prizes: the Poetry Award, the Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize, the Illustrated Non-Fiction Award and the Royal Society Te Apārangi Award for General Non-Fiction. There are also four Best First Book awards, and a Māori language award for books written entirely in te reo Māori, awarded at the judges’ discretion.

A longlist is announced in late January, and a shortlist is released in early March. The awards event is held in May each year.

Please note that Waimakariri Libraries may not hold copies of all titles mentioned.

Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize:

Ockham 2019 Fiction

Illustrated Non-Fiction Award:

Ockham 2019 Illustrated Non-Fiction

Poetry Award:

Ockham 2019 Poetry

Royal Society Te Apārangi Award for General Non-Fiction:

Ockham 2019 Royal Society General Non Fiction

Image credit: Image(s) via New Zealand Book Awards Trust