Ockham New Zealand Book Awards 2018 Winners

Published: 28-May-2018

Ockham New Zealand Book Awards – Winners Announced

From the finalists announced earlier this year, the winners have been selected for these prestigious literary awards.

The 2018 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards winners are:

Wellington writer, Pip Adam won the Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize for her novel “The new animals”, a parody of the Auckland fashion scene.

The New Animals cover image

Listener journalist Diana Wichtel won the Royal Society Te Apārangi Award for General Non-Fiction for her memoir “Driving to Treblinka: A long search for a lost father” -  a family story, but one which shines a light on the vestiges of anti-Semitism that linger in Europe today.

Driving to treblinka cover image

Elizabeth Smither won the Poetry category – an honour bestowed on her twice before – with her collection “Night Horse”.

Night Horse Cover Image

Finally,  Alison Jones and Kuni Kaa Jenkins won the Illustrated Non-Fiction category for their work “Tuai: A traveller in two worlds” which presents an evocative picture of young Māori travelling to England.

a traveller in two worlds cover image