The CWA Daggers Awards 2017

Published: 15-Nov-2017

Crime writer's association present the crime writing awards

The Crime Writers Association Daggers have been synonymous with quality crime writing for over fifty years. This year’s winners have been announced.

The CWA Diamond Dagger – This award recognises authors whose crime writing career have been marked by sustained excellence and who have made a significant contribution to the genre.

Ann Cleeves

The CWA Gold Dagger – best crime novel of the year

the dry book cover 

The dry by Jane Harper

The CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger – Best thriller of the year

spook street book cover 

Spook street by Mick Herron

CWA Historical Dagger - Best historical crime novel of the year

rising man book cover

A rising man by Abir Mukherjee

CWA International Dagger – best book in translation

dying detective book cover

The dying detective by Leif G W Persson

CWA Gold Dagger for Non-fiction

Close but no cigar: a true story of life in Castro’s Cuba by Stephen Purvis

The John Creasey (New Blood Dagger) - for first time authors

tall oaks book cover 

Tall oaks by Chris Whitaker

For more information, shortlists and past winners go to