2017 Ngaio Marsh Awards

Published: 15-Nov-2017

For the best in Kiwi crime novels check out this year’s shortlist for the Ngaio Marsh Awards.
Kiwi crime writing is world class so if you are not already hooked give one of the nominees a try.

2017 Ngaio Marsh Awards

finalist collage  

First awarded in 2010, the Ngaio Marsh Award promotes and celebrates excellence in crime, mystery and thriller writing by New Zealand authors. It is awarded each year in a ceremony held in Christchurch, the birthplace and hometown of Dame Ngaio Marsh, one of the four Queens of Crime of the Golden Age of Detective Fiction.

Below are the winners, followed by the short list for each section. 

Best Crime Novel

the last time we spoke book cover

The Last Time We Spoke by Fiona Sussman (Allison & Busby)

Best First Novel

dead lemons book cover 

Dead Lemons by Finn Bell

Best Non Fiction

in dark places book cover 

In Dark Places by Michael Bennett (Paul Little Books)

Previous winners:

2010       Cut & run by Alix Bosco

2011       Blood Men by Paul Cleave

2012       Luther: the calling by Neil Cross

2013       Death on demand by Paul Thomas

2014       Where the dead men go by Liam McIlvanney

2015       Five minutes alone by  Paul Cleave

2016       Trust no one by Paul Cleave 

For more information: