Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction

Published: 10-Mar-2017

2017 longlist announced


The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction is the UK’s most prestigious annual book award for fiction written by a woman.

Founded in 1996, the Prize was set up to celebrate excellence, originality and accessibility in writing by women throughout the world.

This year’s judges now have the unenviable task of whittling these sixteen titles down to just six shortlisted titles before finally choosing the winner which will be revealed on 7 June 2017.

Keep an eye on the new books shelves for the ones we don't already have!

The longlisted books are as follows:

Stay With Me by   Ayobami Adebayo

The Power  by  Naomi Alderman

Hag-Seed,  by  Margaret Atwood

Little Deaths,  by  Emma Flint

The Mare,  by  Mary Gaitskill

The Dark Circle  by  Linda Grant

The Lesser Bohemians by  Eimear McBride

Midwinter  by  Fiona Melrose

The Sport of Kings  by   C.E. Morgan

The Woman Next Door  by  Yewande Omotoso

The Lonely Hearts Hotel  by  Heather O’Neill

The Essex Serpent  by  Sarah Perry

Barkskins  by  Annie Proulx

First Love  by  Gwendoline Riley

Do Not Say We Have Nothing  by  Madeleine Thien

The Gustav Sonata  by  Rose Tremain